Sessions.

Evening ladies and gentleborgs.  I wanted to talk to you about RPG sessions. And I hope, hopefully, that you will talk back this time.

My RPG sessions have been varied and many. I’ve played them in club rooms while our history teacher does his grading in the background, while we all sat around a bunch of pushed together desks with a makeshift dry-erase grid mat. I’ve played in friend’s bedrooms, huddled on the floor while I work my way through an entire 12-pack of Mountain Dew: Code Red. I’ve played in game store backrooms, and while I scramble to get all my notes together two of the players sneak out to get high ( breaking the number one rule in any game session that I run: If you must partake, do it before the game. and I mean waaay before. Other than that, no performance enhancers).

I’ve played with people I will never, ever be in the same room with, over Skype and other neat little tools. Frankly, most of these sessions have ended in disappointment and frustration, or in a simple and utter lack of fulfillment.

Why I play though, are for those little moments. I think you know the ones if you are a gamer like me. The ones you can talk about later, even if at the time they didn’t seem that interesting. When my Malkavian died wrestling a dragon made of fire, the pile of bodies blocking the lightning rail from moving forward,  that time the Gangrel tried to assassinate the prince by crashing a plane into the Elysium, The time they met the Ogre bard who liked to sing nonstop.

Little tastes into other worlds. I always want a little more, but like I’ve admitted, I’ve never taken a D&D party beyond 6th level.

What I’m hoping to hear from you is this: What was your perfect game session? The one you’ve walked away from where you were truly content.

Leave a Reply

